SB shakes-up committees; 50 Resolutions passed

page 5


Following the May 9 local election, the Sangguniang Bayan of Flora has adopted several changes in the composition of committees as well as chairmanship.

   The distribution of committee chairmanship was held via simple majority voting presided by Vice Mayor Jessica De San Jose during the first regular session of the newly-installed set of members on July 4.

The vice chairman and one member for each committee were informally delegated with the approval of the body.

David O. Tabbaban Jr., the  top vote getter in the recent polls, is now the head of the committee on Rules and Privileges, formerly held by Florendo D. Conde, who is now the chairman of the committee on finance, appropriation and ways and means, which was previously held by Anceta T. Cacacho.

The vice mayor said that since Cacacho is the only woman among the members, it is very appropriate to give her the committee on social welfare which include women, children and senior citizens.

This committee was previously under former SB Member Cristelita Putulan, who lost by just two votes for the eighth spot to Sergio Sabbun Jr.

Sabbun got ecology, climate change and tourism while Demetrio Conde took health, sanitation, education and culture. Clapton R. De San Jose retained the chairmanship for agriculture, trade and cooperative while Jessie R. Pascua kept the committee on public works and infrastructure.

Vic Maruquin, the new member of the house, was elected to head the committee on peace and order, public safety, human rights, social justice, transportation and communication.

Meanwhile, a total of 50 resolutions/ordinances were passed so far by the local legislative body from January-July 2016. Many of these resolutions are intended to request funds for projects and improvement of facilities.




KABINNULIG NEWS is published monthly by the Municipality of Flora, Apayao with temporary editorial office at the 2nd Floor of the Legislatura Building. Contributors are welcomed. Comments and suggestions are also accepted provided that it will uphold moral standards. Letters should be addressed to the Editor. Senders must indicate their name and contact number.
Image | This entry was posted in LEGISLATIVE, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s