Duterte, Robredo get minimal vote from Apayao

Duterte, Robredo get minimal vote from Apayao

Vol. 1 Issue 5, May 2016, frontpage

Incoming President Rodrigo Roa Duterte and Vice President Leni Robredo managed  to pick-up a modest number of votes in the province of Apayao even as local voters of Flora gave Jejomar Binay, Bong Bong Marcos and Manny Pacquiao an overwhelming support in the May 9, 2016 national and local elections.

Duterte got a total of 7,056 votes from Apayao’s seven municipalities which include Calanasan (635), Conner (984), Flora (1,475), Kabugao (543), Luna (1,423), Pudtol (902) and Sta. Marcela (1,094).


INCOMING MALACAñANG OCCUPANT: Former Mayor Rodrigo Duterte, now the newly-elected President of the Republic of the Philippines, shares a moment of photo session with members of the Sangguniang Bayan of Flora led by Vice Mayor-elect Jessica De San Jose during the Entrepreneurship Support and Development Training dubbed “Negosyo sa Bayan” held at the Royal Mandaya Hotel in Davao City on Sept. 16-19, 2015. Joining them are David Tabbaban, Jessie Pascua (partly-hidden), Cristelita Putulan, Demetrio Conde, Sergio Sabbun III, Aniceta Cacacho, Florendo Conde and IP Mandatory Rep. Richard De San Jose, who actively campaigned for Duterte during the 2016 elections.     (contributed photo)

But the country’s newly-elected president was only good for fourth place in the provincial count and his total was way below from rival Jejomar Binay.

Binay, the outgoing vice president, who is running fourth only in the national counting, garnered the highest vote of 22,239 or 44.91%. The provincial voter turnout is 81.75% , the total registered voters in Apayao is 64,867 and the total number of valid votes  was placed at 53,032.

Grace Poe got 10,439 (21.08%), Roxas 8.215 (16.59%), Defensor 1,529 (3.05%) and Seneres 36 ((0.07%).

For vice president, incoming Leni Robredo managed to get 2,762 or only 5.76% which is way below Bong Bong Marcos total votes in Apayao of 40,846 or 85.21 percent.

Chiz Escudero got 1,979 (4.12%), Gringo Honasan 904 (1.88%), Alan Cayetano 876 (1.82%), and Antonio Trillanes IV 566 (1.18%).

The 12 winning senators are Franklin Drilon, Joel Villanueva, Vicente Sotto III, Panfilo Lacson, Richard Gordon, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Manny Pacquiao, Francis Pangilinan, Risa Hontiveros, Sherwin Gatchalian, Ralph Recto and Leila De Lima.

Meanwhile Duterte had already named the members of his cabinet even before he assumes office on July 1 after outgoing  president Benigno Aquino III ends his term on June 30.







KABINNULIG NEWS is published monthly by the Municipality of Flora, Apayao with temporary editorial office at the 2nd Floor of the Legislatura Building. Contributors are welcomed. Comments and suggestions are also accepted provided that it will uphold moral standards. Letters should be addressed to the Editor. Senders must indicate their name and contact number.
Image | This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s